Chhodo Kal Ki Baatein

Indian film industry have so many gems, that sometimes go unnoticed in front of the stars, but their contribution is much more. I am talking about versatile actors like Anupam Kher, Kader Khan, and other such actors.

I have sometimes admired Anupam Kher, he has many qualities among which are making it to bollywood, with so little to start with, and doing so many films being partially bald since the start.
But these are not the qualities I admire him for, the qualities are being able to make fun of himself. Giving himself to the moment.
Doing amazingly what I call demeaning roles, but to him they are roles. I would never have done something so humiliating, but it makes other people laugh. So he does that.

I recently saw his old interview in Movers and Shakers, where he mentioned about his film “Chhodo Kal Ki Baatein”. I knew earlier about his play, “Kuch Bhi Ho Sakta Hai”, which I was never able to see myself, and would love to see sometime, but I know this movie would not be traditional cliché, but something more. So I went ahead and watched the movie.

Being a software engineer my self, I could totally relate myself to the character. With some difference in age, not achieving so high, and being a little more curious to life. But I thought it may be my future in some sense. When he received what I would call a gift of living a single day over and over again, till he figures his mistake out, I would love something like that. (Even though that part was kind of copied from GroundHog Day, another of my favourite movies), It was refreshing to see the process of transformation. And how completely true it was, being so busy in life, we are considering the gifts of life as burdens, and the burdens of life as gifts.

The film emphasizes on the fact of enjoying the path to achievement, and not the achievement, which is pretty relevant.

I also recently came across a very interesting quotation, “The second biggest truth of life after death, is boredom.”

Amazing stuff to learn. Clearly there is going to be times in life where we would feel boredom, extreme one in some sense, but we have to make the best of it.

Another intresting thing to note in the movie was the order of choices of spending the day, the actor decides to lead. At first frustation.
Then on realizing the indefiniteness of his time, first he goes for most prime desires like Gluttony, Lust and Intoxication.
Then when those don’t satisfy him, he becomes confused and restless. Clearly if fulfilling ones desires don’t bring us happiness then what does.

Amazingly true.

I am not giving any answers or spoilers of the movie here, I would definitely suggest watching the movie.

This entry was posted in Behaviour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

